Surprise

Two years ago, I submitted a short story for consideration to Dean Alfar‘s first Philippine Speculative Fiction anthology. It didn’t get in, so I thought that was the end of that.

I’ve just discovered today that I had actually made it to his list of Honorable Mentions for that anthology.

Wow. I really hadn’t been aware of that. (I’m glad I am now!)

In any case, Dean Alfar has issued out the call for submissions for the third volume of Philippine Speculative Fiction. The deadline is September 15, 2007. More details here.

And I submitted a short story entry to the Don Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards. Don’t ask about my impudence; it was very spur-of-the-moment. Well, the decision was very spur-of-the-moment anyway. What happened afterwards was quite long-drawn. I do think I am quite crazy for aiming at the big one at the get-go. But I’m just glad I’ve finally mustered enough guts to jump into the fray nonetheless; that’s already a pretty big leap for me. Good for the writing soul, haha. Luckily, the Palanca is one of those things that don’t evoke much surprise when you find out you haven’t made it.

The second issue of Philippine Genre Stories, where one of my short stories is getting published, is officially out now. It’ll be hitting the stands this Tuesday. =)

And Mark found a Filipino store selling balut in Marickville, about an hour’s train ride from the city, and bought a few. I haven’t had it for a long time, and it’s great to get that distinct taste again. Feels like home. People in College were quite grossed out though. (For the uninitiated, balut is a Filipino delicacy – an egg containing a half-fertilized duck embryo.) He also got me a bottle of Mang Tomas sarsa (sauce) and a Barrio Fiesta bagoong (shrimp paste). Hurrah for condiments!

Posted on April 28, 2007, in Philippines, Sydney, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The story is spiffy! Spiffy spiffy spiffy spiffy! It’s about seasonings! Whee!

  2. LOL! Thanks, S8. 😄 It truly is about seasonings.

Leave a Reply

