Views

The lights in Hong Kong are so bright that you can’t see the stars at night. There’s only a weird, yellowish haze from the apartment buildings and the main road that looks like fog and everything gets dimmer as they slip into the horizon. It’s odd not to have stars. The world suddenly becomes emptier, and the sky bigger. I wonder if that’s what it would look like if everything except Earth was obliterated from the galaxy.

A few pictures.

viewwindow1.jpg

The view outside my window around 6PM.

viewwindow2.jpg

A slightly more picturesque take.

kln1.jpg

I went to the old Kowloon Walled City just this Saturday. It’s the place that both the British and the Chinese governments “forgot” about when Hong Kong was ceded to Britain more than a hundred years ago, and it was infamously known for the criminals and outcasts that it harbored because of its confusion in jurisdiction. It’s converted to a park now. William Gibson, the Godfather of Cyberpunk, was inspired by the Walled City for the backdrop of his novel Idoru.

kln2.jpg

What’s left of the original wall.

kln3.jpg

My zodiac. Moo. Guess my age from that.

kln4.jpg

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I–
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference. – Robert Frost, The Road Not Taken

Posted on August 19, 2007, in Books, Hong Kong, Photos, Travel. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. One year older than my sister, since I can’t imagine you’re older than my brother.

  2. kelangan mo ko isama sa walled city! 😮 hehe…

Leave a Reply

