Today

I brought the C-grade girls’ basketball team to their first game this morning in Choi Hung Sports Centre. We got pretty creamed by the opposing team by the 50 points. I, the honorable coach who was never meant to be their coach in the first place, spent half the time laughing in helplessness and shaking my head. But I’m really proud of them – it really wasn’t bad for their first game. They scored 7 points against a team that had been playing for a long time, and they learned a lot through this experience, finally believing me that lay-up skills are crucial, to always go downcourt when ball changes possession after a score, and to frickin’ use their defensive zones. My eleven and twelve-year-old girls had never played in a team against another. This game got them learning how to read referee signals and has really shocked them into taking Thursday practice seriously, hahaha. They are so stoked for the next game next week.

After lunch I went home and puttered around and took a nap. Then I went to the mall to watch the movie Elizabeth: The Golden Age, starring Cate Blanchett. I would watch anything with Cate Blanchett in it, and as my favorite monarch ever, more so. Unfortunately, I don’t think this movie quite delivered; the first one was still much better. I thought this one rambled too much and felt too sequelly. The two dramatic points would be the execution of Mary Queen of Scots and the siege of the Spanish Armada of the English Channel, which were quite engaging, but during the moments between these two, I felt the movie just sort of floated along on Queen E’s hysterics, medieval tortures, and on my annoyance for Walter Raleigh, played by Clive Owen, who was too dashing and noble for his own good. The beginning was really crisp, and Queen E was at her witty-monarch best, but once Raleigh came in, it was as if the movie (along with the queen) didn’t know what to do with him. Thus followed court melodrama. I was dying for King Felipe (who was, incidentally, portrayed as a leering Hispanic who never wore anything but black and has some serious issues with his daughter) to make the frickin’ siege already. (And where on earth was Francis Drake??)
In any case, the movie was a bit of a muddle. It went from one hysterical moment to another, and an unfamiliarity with that part of English history would have doomed a unprepared watcher to complete confusion in the uncertainty of the whole thing. Have to say that I was there really only Cate Blanchett, although at one point she does change from her battle armor to a nightgown and stands on the cliff, watching the flaming ships and getting sprayed by water and pure bathos.

Posted on January 19, 2008, in Hong Kong, Life in General. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. XD, well I hope your girls taking the practice seriously, pays off.

    ey, I got a reply from steph, she’s on her midterms until feb. 7, she’s available anytime after feb. 7. as for me, weekends are fine, and weekdays I can do if it starts after 6.

Leave a Reply

