Ode to a Notebook

September 16, 2008.

Sometimes I think I’ve bitten off more than I can chew.

It’s just turned one minute past midnight.

You know what’s great about writing to you? You’re always around. You’ll never grow feet and run away or leave. As long as I keep a good head on my shoulders and not lose you, I’ll always have you to talk to. And you never interrupt.

You never judge. You just wait till I flip these pages again and let me judge myself.

The pages are starting to thin; I’ll need to buy a new one of you soon. I wish you weren’t so expensive. Old friend, we’ve been through so much, and past midnight it’s just both you and me again and the voices in my head.

I wish…but there is no use for wishing.

I wonder if I would care if someone ever read through these pages. I don’t think it would matter much, since most of what matters is in between the lines. At least that’s what we’ve been taught as how any good writer is supposed to write. Restraint, finesse, and subtlety. No bleeding hearts worn on the sleeve. Always discreet, never desperately revealing. One writes to hide and show at the same time.

…Old friend, the one who can tolerate me the most. What are you if not simply myself. You know, one day it’ll end, my having to constantly talk to myself.

One day I’ll have all thorns out of my side, and till then I’ll be left to wonder if it is possible to live a life simply as subtext read between the lines.

You incurable dork.

Posted on March 4, 2009, in Life in General, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Notebooks are good, but special lucky notebooks are the best. ^^ I have two, or had actually as one is almost filled up.

    • Yeah, special lucky notebooks actually make you want to write on them. ^_^ Which gives you more productivity. Which, when it reaps you benefits at some point, makes you think think your notebook’s lucky.

  2. What notebook do you use?

    Unfortunately, my writing is the opposite: I wear my bleeding heart on my sleeve. I think it depends on the kind of context you want to write.

    Take care.

    • I am easy prey for the Moleskine marketing ploy of giving a notebook a story.

      Yeah, actually I think that continental European writers tend to wear their hearts on their sleeve more than their British counterparts. Such as Javier Marias, Spanish and who’s one of my favorite writers; everything the character is thinking and feeling is always just out there, all present…and the effect is so magnetic.

      But then I come from an immensely Anglophilic background of studying literature. 😄

  3. Aha! I can bribe you with Moleskine notebooks… you do know that avalon.ph sells them cheaper here? (http://www.avalon.ph/shop/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcategory=&idproduct=1)

  4. I used to be recommended this web site by my cousin. I’m no
    longer certain whether or not this publish is written by way of him
    as no one else recognise such targeted approximately my trouble.
    You’re amazing! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

