Some Banalities of Life Today

As I type this, Hong Kong is plunged in the middle of a ghastly 8 degrees Celsius. Which would be nothing but balmy weather in the context of Beijing, but in a place like Hong Kong, where heaters are not à la mode in apartments, it is simply bewildering, if not rather irritating, the way the temperature insists on going down a tad bit more everyday. Makes rather good small-talk fodder, though.

How goeth the flat-hunting in HK, you ask? Bit hard to tell when one recommended real estate agent is still on holiday leave, and the other’s contact numbers lead to a call center that claims the numbers aren’t in use. All this waiting (and not being able to do anything about it) is driving me a bit nuts. Till Saturday, then. Meanwhile I’ll have to content myself with browsing real estate sites to get a solid knowledge of prices in different areas right now and taking a look at potential neighborhoods. You don’t want to charge right into unrecommended agents here; they can be downright pushy and nasty sometimes.

Read Lynn Truss’s Eats, Shoots and Leaves: The Zero Tolerance to Punctuation. I learned that I truly and categorically read nonfiction a lot faster than fiction, but then it is a small book. Enjoyed it. The humor was so addicting that I read it to and fro campuses on the trains  – though admittedly a rather small feat for today since the times I was on the train allowed for seats. ( The other time I was trying to read a book on the train rather unwisely during rush hour – Gary Shteyngart’s Absurdistan, which I still haven’t finished yet because I noticed I’m getting a little annoyed with Misha Vainberg’s character, and yes I know it’s supposed to be satire, but still- I was pretzeled in with other human pretzels with my brave paperback sprouting out – insert a workable simile for me here, it’s 12:30AM and I had a full day of work – in barely the right angle for me to read it.)

Yes, the book. It comes with a Punctuation Repair Kit (stickers of a variety of punctuation marks that one can easily apply to signs in public areas if needed), which should tell you how serious and tongue-in-cheek the book is. I particularly liked the bit about how the period/full stop is the father of the family, the comma the mother, the semicolon the daughter playing the piano with crossed hands, and the exclamation point the big attention-deficit brother who breaks things and laughs too loudly. Recommended for a quick, relaxed read.

And tomorrow is another day.

Posted on February 19, 2010, in Books, Hong Kong, Life in General. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

