News and Then Some

Goodness.

Right. Here we go.

I’ve just received news from home that my short story, “Benito Salazar’s Last Creation,” has just won third prize in the Don Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature.

Whew.

My mom called me at the office right in the middle of work to tell me the good news. I still haven’t quite recovered from being absolutely floored. To think that it was my first time to submit to Palanca and I did it because I was feeling left out (and lily-livered).

Anyway. I’m getting cocky. Must. Stop.

So I’m flying home for the awards ceremony, upon my mother’s insistence, haha. Then I’ll have to fly back to HK for work the day after.

I must say that this is seriously a major dream come true.

Posted on August 13, 2007, in Philippines, Work, Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Congratulations! Wonderful, wonderful news! I blogged about it right away!

  2. Kudos, Crystal! See you at the awards then!

  3. Congratulations! 😀

  4. Awards ceremony?! Waaaazooo! Practice your victory dance.

  5. (reads about the award)

    How the spit did you manage that?!

    How the spit did I ever manage to meet an award winning author?!

    (Oh, wait, there was that guy back in elementary school, but he was a kid’s writer, and…)

    Uh, where can I read this story?

  6. Hi guys, thanks SO much! Thanks for your support! See you there, Dean!

    Haha, hey S8. I managed by having a lot of people helping me write that story and believing in me, hehe.

  7. Where story!? WHERE!? And is that a picture of a cake?

  8. Haha, yeah, I’ll email it to you. Yes, that is a picture of a cheesecake.

  9. !!!! Congratulations !!!! I’m really happy for you! =D, yay!

  10. Hehehehe, thanks Karen! And for the Popo and Cool Cat emoticons too, wahahahah!

  11. Congratulations!

    I was just surfing the web looking to see if the latest roster of Palanca winners had a site/blog, when I stumbled upon your site/blog.

    Anyway, to business. I’m writing an article for the UP Newsletter about the recent literature awards and the UP alumni, faculty, and workshop fellows who won. I take it from your blogroll links that you’re from UPD, right?

    Again congratulations.

  12. Thanks Francis! I certainly am from UPD.

  1. Pingback: Read Or Die Weblog » Blog Archive » Manila Critics Circle Website

Leave a comment